Victoria: 23 civic leaders were honoured at Government House with the Order of British Columbia. It’s the Province’s highest award.

“For 25 years, we have publicly recognized those who have dedicated themselves to bettering the lives of their fellow citizens. These recipients exemplify the positive difference one person can make in a community an

Photo credit:
Photo credit:

d are an inspiration to all British Columbians,” said Lt.-Gov. Judith Guichon, Chancellor of the Order.

“This year’s recipients have each made a difference in their communities and to the province. On behalf of all British Columbians, I want to thank them for their dedication and all they do to make B.C. better,” said Premier Christy Clark.

This year’s recipients are:

Founding president of Thompson Rivers University Roger H. Barnsley, Forest industry executive Peter Bentley, Dana Brynelsen, LL.D. of Halfmoon, Heart disease researcher John A. Cairns, Philanthropist Tung Chan, Health information technology pioneer William Clifford, global change-maker writer Douglas Coupland, fundraiser for childhood cancer research Gloria Cuccione and Community volunteer Leslie Diamond.

More recipients are James C. Hogg,  Jane Knott, Paul Lacerte, Donald R. Lindsay, Anne Lippert, Leonard S. Marchand, K. Barry Marsden, Chief Chester Moore of Terrace, Rudolph North, David R. Podmore, John Brian Patrick Quinn, Bob Rennie, Ellis Ross, Lorne R. Segal,  Aubrey J. Tingle and Hal Weinberg.

Four recipients, Donald Lindsay, Leonard Marchand, Rudy North and Lorne Segal, were unable to attend the ceremony, while Gregory Fahlman and George Hungerford, 2013 recipients, were invested today, having missed last year’s ceremony.

The Order of British Columbia is bestowed annually to citizens who have demonstrated outstanding distinction and achievement in any field. Since the order was first introduced in 1989, 370 people have been appointed.