London: Sri Lanka rode on a solid batting display to register a seven-wicket victory over India in their Group B Champions Trophy match at The Oval here on Thursday.

Set a challenging target of 322 runs, the Lankans rode on half-centuries from Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka to cross the line in 48.3 overs and register their first win the tournament.

The duo dominated the Indian bolwers to add 159 runs between them and lay the foundation of a successful run chase.

Mendis was the highest scorer among the Sri Lankans, producing a steady 89 runs off 93 balls before being run out thanks to an excellent piece of fielding by Indian pacer Buvneshwar Kumar off his own bowling.

Gunathilaka smashed 76 off 72 deliveries with seven boundaries and two sixes.

Thursday’s result throws the group wide open as all the teams in the group — India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and South Africa — have identical records of a win and a draw.

India will now have to beat South Africa in their last group match on June 11 and Sri lanka face a must win contest against Pakistan a day later in quest to qualify from the semi-finals.



Rohit Sharma c Thisara Perera b Malinga 78
Shikhar Dhawan c Mendis b Malinga 125
Virat Kohli c Dickwella b Pradeep 0
Yuvraj Singh b Gunaratne 7
Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Chandimal b Thisara Perera 63
Hardik Pandya c Kusal Perera b Lakmal 9
Kedar Jadhav not out 25
Ravindra Jadeja not out 0
Extras: (lb 4, w 10) 14

Total: (in 50 overs) 321/6

Fall of wickets: 1-138 (ROhit Sharma, 24.5 overs), 2-139 (Virat Kohli, 25.5 ov), 3-179 (Yuvraj Singh, 33.3 ov), 4-261 (Shikhar Dhawan, 44.1 ov), 5-278 (Hardik Pandya, 45.4 ov), 6-307 (Mahendra Singh Dhoni, 49.2 ov)

Lasith Malinga 10-0-70-2
Suranga Lakmal 10-1-72-1
Nuean Pradeep 10-0-73-1
Thisara Perera 9-0-54-1
Danushka Gunathilaka 8-0-41-0
Asela Gunaratne 3-0-7-1

Sri Lanka:
Niroshan Dickwella c Jadeja b Kumar 7
Danushka Gunathilaka run out 76
Kusal Mendis run out 89
Kusal Perera retired hurt 47
Angelo Mathews not out 52
Asela Gunaratne not out 34
Extras: (lb 11, w 5, nb 1) 17

Total: (in 48.4 overs) 322/3

Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Niroshan Dickwella, 4.4 overs), 2-170 (Danushka Gunathilaka, 27.5 ov), 3-196 (Kusal Mendis, 32.4 ov), 3-271 (Kusal Perera, retired not out, 42.6 ov)
Bowling :
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10-0-54-1
Umesh Yadav 9.4-0-67-0
Jasprit Bumrah 10-0-52-0
Hardik Pandya 7-1-51-0
Ravindra Jadeja 6-0-52-0
Kedar Jadhav 3-0-18-0
Virat Kohli 3-0-17-0