01 - Parmjit SohalMississauga: The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) has announced Canada’s 2014 ‘Top Docs’ in Family Medicine and the recipient for BC is family doctor Dr. Parmjit Singh Sohal.

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) has announced the 2014 Family Physicians of the Year as the recipients of the Reg L. Perkin Award. The awards will be presented as part of the CFPC’s annual Family Medicine Forum on November 11th, which this year will be held in Quebec City, Quebec. The award recipients are nominated by their peers, colleagues, and the CFPC’s 10 provincial chapters for outstanding patient care, significant contributions to the health and well-being of their local community, and commitment to family medicine teaching and research.

Canada’s 2014 Family Physicians of the Year are:

 Dr. Parmjit Sohal, Surrey, British Columbia

 Dr. Rita Dahlke, Calgary, Alberta

 Dr. Nora McKee, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

 Dr. Sheldon Permack, Winnipeg, Manitoba

 Dr. Ted Osmun, Mount Brydges, Ontario

 Dre Manon Proulx, Rigaud, Quebec

 Dr. Sharon Northorp, Moncton, New Brunswick

 Dr. Michelle Dow, Meteghan Centre, Nova Scotia

 Dr. Cyril Moyse, Summerside, Prince Edward Island

 Dr. Jody Woolfrey, Botwood, Newfoundland & Labrador

“It is particularly rewarding to recognize this year’s Family Physicians of the Year as part of the CFPC’s 60th anniversary celebrations,” says CFPC President, Dr. Kathy Lawrence. “These amazing family physicians contribute to our quality health care system through dedication to their patients, students and residents, research, and their day-to-day practices. I commend them on their success.”

“It is an honour to present the Reg L. Perkin Award to this year’s award recipients who exemplify what it means to be a Canadian family doctor—providing exceptional care to patients and contributing to the health and well-being of their communities,” adds Dr. Francine Lemire, CFPC Executive Director and CEO. The CFPC is proud to acknowledge their respective accomplishments in many of the unique facets of family medicine.”

The CFPC has acknowledged outstanding Canadian family physicians with the Family Physician of the Year award since 1972. In 1996, the award was named in honour of Dr. Reg L. Perkin, who served as a CFPC Executive Director from 1985 to 1996. The awards are presented as part of Family Doctor Week in Canada, which this year runs from November 10-15, 2014.

The CFPC represents more than 31,000 members across the country. It is the professional organization responsible for establishing standards for the training and certification of family physicians. The College reviews and accredits continuing professional development programs and materials that enable family physicians to meet certification and licencing requirements and lifelong learning interests. It also accredits postgraduate family medicine training in Canada’s 17 medical schools. The College provides quality services, supports family medicine teaching and research, and advocates on behalf of family physicians and the specialty of family medicine.