Four-way battle begin for India’s General Election 2014

non BJP non Cong alliance

New Delhi: Avoiding the issue of a prime ministerial candidate and choosing not to give a formal name to the alliance yet, ‘11’ non-Congress, non-BJP parties resolved to form a “democratic, secular, federal and pro-people” alternative to fight the forthcoming General Elections together.


After an hour-long meeting attended by top leaders of the 9 parties – AIADMK, SP, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, CPI, Revolutionary Socialist Party, JD(U), JD(S), CPM and Forward Bloc – a joint declaration was issued. “It is time for a change and to throw out the Congress from power. BJD chief Naveen Patnaik and Asom Gana Parishad chief Prafulla Mahanta gave the meeting a miss. The parties made it clear that this did not necessarily mean an electoral alliance among them.


Now Indian voters have 4 options to choose from in the upcoming General Elections – AAP, BJP, Congress and this front of ‘11’.