Burnaby Councillor Sav Dhaliwal and City of North Vancouver Mayor Linda Buchanan have been acclaimed as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Metro Vancouver Board of Directors for their second term.

Chair Dhaliwal and Vice Chair Buchanan also assume the same roles for the Greater Vancouver Sewerage & Drainage District, the Greater Vancouver Water District and the Metro Vancouver Housing Corporation. The Chair and Vice Chair positions are for a one-year term.

Metro Vancouver directors are elected officials representing 21 municipalities, one treaty First Nation, and one electoral area. Each year, the directors elect a Chair and Vice Chair for the next year. Directors are appointed by their respective municipal councils, with the number of directors from each municipality reflecting that area’s population. The formula is one vote for every 20,000 people to a maximum of five votes.

Following the inaugural meeting, Chair Dhaliwal will appoint members to standing committees, which consider priorities, policies, and activities for the organization, and make recommendations to the Board. The committees and the Board typically meet monthly.

Chair Dhaliwal’s biography is posted on the City of Burnaby website:  https://www.burnaby.ca/our-city-hall/mayor—council/council-profiles/councillor-sav-dhaliwal.html

Vice Chair Buchanan’s biography is posted on the City of North Vancouver website: https://www.cnv.org/your-government/mayor-and-council/mayor-linda-buchanan