CARP (Harpreet)





Vancouver: The first South Asian Chapter of CARP was launched at the Zoomer show held in Vancouver on Feb 22. CARP is a national, non-partisan, non-profit organization committed to a ‘New Vision of Aging for Canada’ while  promoting social change that will bring financial security, equitable access to health care and freedom from discrimination. The mandate of the organization is to promote and protect the interests, rights and quality of life for Canadians as they age.  The organization has over 300,000 members all across Canada.

Harpreet Singh, Chair of the South Asian Chapter felt the need to have the issues and challenges of the South Asians highlighted on the national stage. When Moses Znaimer provided an opportunity, Harpreet and his team decided to start a Chapter focusing on the needs of the community. The Chapter will communicate with the community at large to raise awareness on various issues so that the needs are addressed at the municipal, provincial and national level. The Chapter will provide an opportunity to all the South Asians to join hands in raising their voices together for a dignified living.

The organization advocates the needs of the elders and focuses on the financial, health and basic rights of the people as they age. Whether it is highlighting the rights and dignity of people as they age or easy access to dependable information and resources for healthy living, CARP is in the forefront highlighting the needs of the seniors.

CARP is committed to building a strong sense of common cause and common voice with a broad diversity of individuals, groups and communities. Active, goal-oriented Chapters act as a volunteer-based resource for promoting CARP’s mission, programs and objectives.


Chair- Harpreet Singh

Vice Chair-Dolly Sidhu/ Mota Singh Jheeta

Secretray- Nusrat Hussain

Treasurer- Avtar Dhaliwal

PRO- Manish Verma

Board Members- Dr Bikkar S Lalli, Balwant Sanghera,Jas Cheema, Lucky Kaur Gill, Surendra Handa, Dean Atwal, Amandeep Singh, Sadia Sameeullah, Harbans Kandola, Mohammad Rafiq, Tarlok Sablok.

For more info: visit