Truth Builds Trust
Police Officer of the Year award winners

Surrey: Last night the Surrey RCMP along with its support staff, volunteers, and community partners were recognized at the Surrey Board of Trade’s 19th annual Police Officer of the Year Awards for their dedication to public safety.

Sergeant Mike Sanchez receiving award
Sergeant Mike Sanchez receiving award

Sergeant Michael Sanchez was named Police Officer of the Year (as nominated by his peers) for his innovative and collaborative approach to policing in the City Centre area as head of the detachment’s General Duty A Watch. Inspector Ghalib Bhayani was named Police Officer of the Year (as nominated by the community) for his inspiration and dedication in leading the Surrey RCMP’s first ever Community Mobilization process.

Inspector Ghalib Bhayani receiving award
Inspector Ghalib Bhayani receiving award

Other award winners included:

  • Arnold Silzer Community Policing Initiative Award: Constable Carl Garlinksi and Constable Ryan Camping
  • Police Team Award:       Crime Reduction Unit – South Team
  • Auxiliary Constable of the Year: Auxiliary Constable Ken Merrells
  • Municipal Employee of the Year Award: Marnie Neal
  • Volunteer of the Year: Roger Reid
  • Police and Business Partnership Award: Surrey Crime Prevention Society

“Every year these awards demonstrate the collective efforts that our officers, staff, volunteers, and partner agencies are making towards public safety,” says Surrey RCMP Officer in Charge, Chief Superintendent Bill Fordy. “The business community clearly recognizes the value that results when the police and the public work together towards achieving a common goal of crime reduction and prevention.”

“Congratulations to all the deserving recipients of this year’s Police Officer of the Year Awards,” says Surrey Board of Trade Chief Executive Officer Anita Huberman. “This ceremony celebrates not only the efforts of the police, but all those who have taken innovative steps towards making Surrey a safer place to live and do business.”

Master of Ceremonies Jesse Johnston, CBC reporter, kept the evening going with lots of laughs while keynote speaker author Heidi Cave gave an inspiring speech about hope, optimism, and courage in the face of tragedy.

Congratulations to all award winners and nominees.

Partial proceeds from the event go towards the RCMP Youth Academy.


(Photos: Submitted by Surrey RCMP)