Dave Hayer
Dave Hayer

Surrey: Dave Hayer former MLA for the Surrey Tynehead from 2001-2013 elected as the Vice President of the Association of Former MLAs of BC.

Dave attended the Annual General Meting of the Association of Former MLAs of BC at the British Columbia Parliament Buildings & Dinner at the Government House, hosted by Her Honour, Lt. Gov. Janet Austin. Special Guest speaker was Global BC’s Keith Baldrey, who has been a political correspondent and a Legislative Press Gallery veteran member for over 30 years.

The Association, previously called Association of Ex-MLAs of B.C. is non-partisan and is made up of former MLAs from all political parties was founded in 1987.

“It is a privilege to be elected Vice President of the Association” said Hayer, along with former MLAs Jeff Bray (Former MLA Victoria Beacon Hill) elected President and Penny Priddy (Former MLA Newton) elected as Past President.

Dave also attended the Speaker’s forum and Roundtable to discuss the role of MLAs with his former colleagues. Topics discussed included: What does it mean to have representative and responsible government?  How well do MLAs undertake and balance their responsibilities? How can MLAs most effectively represent their constituents? Other topics focused around parliamentary practice, public engagement and Party and Caucus dynamics.