rbcThe winners of the ninth annual RBC Top 25 Canadian Immigrants have been announced! Presented by Canadian Immigrant magazine and sponsored by RBC Royal Bank, this annual awards program celebrates the achievements of inspiring Canadian immigrants.

Canada is certainly a land of immigrants and it shows in the diversity of our winners this year who originally hail from different parts of the world, but now call Canada home. From the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada Ahmed Hussen himself, to the founder of BroadbandTV Shahrzad Rafati to medical humanitarian Dr. James Orbinski to iconic ballerina Chan Hon Goh to Syrian LGBTQ activist Ahmad Danny Ramadan, each of our winners is truly inspiring in what they have achieved professionally or personally.

“What an amazing year for the awards and Canada! We’ve had a record number of votes cast this year — 55,000+ — which is a true testament to the important contributions immigrants make to this great nation of ours,” says Margaret Jetelina, editor, Canadian Immigrant magazine.

In addition, two winners will be selected for special recognition, the RBC Entrepreneur Award and the new Youth Award. Ajay Virmani, president and CEO or CargoJet, Canada’s largest cargo airline, is the third annual recipient of the RBC Entrepreneur Award for excellence in entrepreneurship. Ishita Aggarwal, scientist, women’s rights advocate and youth philanthropist, is the first recipient of the Youth Award – a new award established this year. The award recognizes immigrant youth who are making a difference in their adopted country through achievement demonstrating that when we invest in youth great things happen.

“RBC is proud to celebrate the outstanding accomplishments and contributions of Canadian newcomers. The RBC Top 25 Canadian Immigrant Awards showcase the richness and diversity newcomers add to the fabric of our communities,” says Ivy Chiu, senior director, cultural markets, RBC. “For close to 150 years, we have welcomed new Canadians from all around the world and we look forward to seeing how they help shape Canada for the next 150 years. Congratulations to all winners and nominees.”

The RBC Top 25 Canadian Immigrant Award winners will be honoured at ceremonies in Toronto today, and in Vancouver on June 29.

Here is the list:

Ishita Aggarwal, Vaughan, Ontario

Dr. Zulfiqar Bhutta, Toronto, Ontario

Gabriela Covaci, Burlington, Ontario

Dahlia ElShafie-Mostafa, Calgary, Alberta

Mohamad Fakih, Mississauga, Ontario

Jennifer Gillivan, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Chan Hon Goh, Vancouver, British Columbia

Raghwa Gopal, Kelowna, British Columbia

Maziar Heidari, Toronto, Ontario

Minister Ahmed Hussen, Toronto, Ontario

Abdullah Kafashe, Salluit, Quebec

Tony Luk, Toronto, Ontario

Trish Mandewo, Coquitlam, British Columbia

Florfina Marcelino, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Noelle Milne, Toronto, Ontario

Agnes P. Miranda, Stouffville, Ontario

Dr. Muhammad Morshed, Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr. James Orbinski, Guelph, Ontario

Shahrzad Rafati, Vancouver, British Columbia

Ahmad Danny Ramadan, Vancouver, British Columbia

Miroslav Reljic, Calgary, Alberta

Ninela Sanchez, Mississauga, Ontario

Kuldeep Sharma, Mississauga, Ontario

Ajay Virmani, Oakville, Ontario

Senator Yuen Pau Woo, Vancouver, British Columbia